So just how dangerous is it to drive drunk? Having a blood alcohol content of just .10, a tiny bit over the legal limit, puts you at seven times higher of a risk for being involved in a crash that kills someone. If that level is raised to just .15, the risk increases to 25 times.
What about driving with a little bit of alcohol in your system? What if you are driving under the legal limit? Are you still putting yourself and people around you at risk?
Believe it or not, you could be. A blood alcohol content of .04, for instance, can increase the likelihood of someone being involved in a car crash by 1.4 times. Every drink that is added to that person’s system increases the risk dramatically. Doubling the blood alcohol level to .08 increases the risk of a car crash to 11 times more likely. So having “just one more” could bring devastating consequences.
In Arizona, you can be arrested for a Arizona DUI offense based on two laws. First, if your driving is impaired based on your driving pattern and there is any alcohol in your system, you could be convicted of a DUI. Arizona also has a per se law that states that drivers who have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher are guilty of driving under the influence. The test has to be performed within two hours of the arrest to be valid.
Because of the numbing of bodily sensations and the inability to act rationally when inebriated, many alcohol dependent individuals still fail to drink the water their body needs—often interpreting thirst as the need for another alcoholic beverage. If the signs of alcohol related dehydration continue to be ignored, alcohol dependent individuals can experience dehydration that requires hospitalization in order to treat.
Stonewall Institute offers DUI evaluation services Tempe in order for individuals to be considered for the reinstatement of driving privileges in the state of Arizona. Many times people are unaware of the impact alcohol can have on them and the amount it takes to be considered impaired to drive a vehicle. Below is an outline of what it takes to reach the legal limit in Arizona.
There isn’t a right answer to this question, each individual has unique characteristics that determine a BAC score. One drink can be considered 1 12-oz beer, 1 3oz glass of wine or 1-Shot or 1-oz of hard liquor. In fact it takes very little alcohol to become legally drunk and many variables such as weight, sex and body fat percentage can all be factors in the equation. The best answer is to have zero drinks before you drive. If you want to read more about the topic please see the Drink and Weight Table or check out our BAC Calculator.
With a second conviction of a DUI in Arizona you will receive a $900 fine ($500 + 80% surcharge) PLUS another $1,250 for your 2nd DUI Assessment and up to 90 days in jail. Drivers license will be revoked for one year. You will also have to install (at your expense) an interlock ignition device in all of your vehicles.
The vehicle will not start unless you blow into the device and prove that you have not consumed any alcohol. For a $1350 fine ($750 + 80% surcharge) PLUS a $250 DUI assessment PLUS a $1500 aggravated DUI assessment. A third drunk driving conviction within 60 month of the first two DUI’s is considered an “aggravated DUI” in Arizona.
The violation of the aggravated DUI law is a felony punishable by 4 months in prison plus mandatory drug and alcohol screening. Mandatory attendance for counseling. Your driver’s license will be revoked for 3 years and you will also have to install (at your expense) a interlock ignition device in all of your vehicles. The vehicle will not start unless you blow into the device and prove that you have not consumed any alcohol. Your car may be forfeited to the state and sold (The money goes to the state).